Archive for March, 2016

Mississippi Presidential Primer for March 8 Primary

Saturday, March 5th, 2016

Awarding Mississippi Delegates

Winning Mississippi’s Republican delegates in the March 8 primary depends not only on the statewide total, but also the votes cast in each of the four congressional districts.

By Congressional District:

Each Mississippi congressional district will award 3 delegates. If a candidate carries the majority vote in a district, he wins all 3 delegates. If there is no majority, first place in the district gets 2 delegates and second place gets 1 delegate. Total congressional district delegates available: 12.

By State At Large:

Each candidate receiving at least 15% of the vote statewide receives a portion of the delegates. The delegates are awarded to all candidates meeting that threshold apportioned by their share of the vote. Total state at large delegates: 28.

RNC Delegates:

Mississippi Republican Party Chairman Joe Nosef, Mississippi National Committeewoman Jeanne Luckey and Mississippi National Committeeman Henry Barbour each vote as 1 delegate by virtue of their position on the Republican National Committee. Barbour has endorsed Marco Rubio. Total RNC delegates: 3.

Where to Watch:

In 2012, 293,783 voters cast ballots in the Mississippi Republican Presidential Primary. The following 13 counties made up 54.4% of the Republican Presidential Primary results.

· Capital Tri-County: Rankin, Hinds, Madison: 17.5%

· Memphis Suburbs: DeSoto: 5.7%

· Gulf Coast: Harrison, Jackson, Hancock, Pearl River: 15.6%

· Tupelo: Lee 4.4%

· Meridian: Lauderdale 3.1%

· Pinebelt: Jones, Lamar, Forrest 8.1%

Up For Grabs:

Mississippi’s Second Congressional District is represented by Congressman Bennie Thompson, a Democrat in a very secure Democratic district. Mississippi’s other three districts are heavily Republican, but the 2nd District awards 3 delegates just like each of the others. Parts of Hinds County (Clinton) & Madison County are in the 2nd District; also a strong showing in Warren (Vicksburg), Washington (Greenville), Leflore (Greenwood), Panola (Batesville), Copiah (Crystal Springs) and Yazoo (Yazoo City) could capture 1 or 2 delegates with a much lower total vote number than in the more Republican areas of the state. Y’all Politics with Magellan Strategies BR released a poll last week showing Donald J. Trump leading in all four congressional districts but posting his lowest numbers in the 2nd District where 1 in 5 voters were still undecided.


Four years ago, Mississippi split three ways with Rick Santorum at 32.8%; Newt Gingrich at 31.2%; Mitt Romney at 30.6%. After all district delegates and at large delegates were awarded, Santorum won 13 delegates while Gingrich and Romney each took 12.

On the Ballot:

While only four candidates continue their campaigns, thirteen candidates are listed on the Republican ballot. Mississippi does not have early voting but absentee voting began on January 23rd and ended at noon on March 5. A special election in Senate District 25 (Hinds, Madison) is being held on March 8 as well. While that race is nonpartisan on the ballot, both candidates are Republicans and the race will be listed on both the Republican and Democratic primary ballots.

Federal & State Lobbying Strategic Communication Project Management Business Development Political Consulting
Blog Homepage