Posts Tagged ‘2016 Special Elections’

Green, Gibbs lead in House 72 fundraising

Thursday, August 18th, 2016

Voters in House District 72 will choose a replacement in a special election for former Representative Kimberly Campbell who resigned earlier this year.

Candidates were required to file pre-election campaign finance reports on Tuesday. Synarus Green and Debra Hendricks Gibbs lead in fundraising.

House 72 - Pre-Election Campaign Finance Report Summary

Synarus Green - Green jumped in the race first and looks to lead the field in votes and in fundraising. He served as Jackson’s chief administrative officer in the Lumumba Administration and previously as aide to Congressman Bennie Thompson. He is the son of Hinds Circuit Judge Tomie Green who held the seat from 1992-1998. Green loaned his campaign $11,404 but has raised significant funds from attorneys and law firms. Contributors include Crymes Pittman ($1000), Danny Cupit ($500), John Corlew ($500), the Simmons & Simmons firm of state Senator Derrick Simmons ($250), Pieter Teeuwissen ($500), Ashley Ogden ($1000), Vicki Slater ($500) and J.L. Holloway ($500). (Report)

Debra Hendricks Gibbs - Nearly half of the money raised by Gibbs comes from the Gibbs family or connected businesses (Robert L. Gibbs $6000; Gibbs Travis PLLC $2500; Waste Disposal Services LLC $3500). Former Jackson Mayor Kane Ditto, Jr. and associated companies contributed $1000. Other contributors include Whitwell & Associates (former Jackson city councilman Quentin Whitwell) $250; LeRoy Walker $500; Jonathan Lee $250; Richard Schwartz $500; and Duane O’Neil (President: Greater Jackson Chamber Partnership) $250. (Report)

Theresa G. Kennedy - Kennedy contributed $1500 to her own campaign and other contributors include state Senator Deborah Dawkins ($200), Richard Schwartz ($500), Brent Hazzard ($750), Dependable Source Corp ($1000) and New Jerusalem Baptist Church ($250). (Report)

A. Shae Buchanon-Williams - (No report available online at the Secretary of State’s Office as of 2:30pm 8/16/2016.) Her campaign organization filing lists former Court of Appeals Justice Ermea J. Russell as treasurer and Cindy Ayers Elliott, a former assistant treasurer defeated in the 1999 Democratic Primary when running for treasurer as her campaign manager. Elliott was also a candidate for the special state Senate election to replace Alice Hardin in 2013. (Filing)

If no candidate receives a majority of the vote, the top two will advance to a run-off on September 13.

Hudson first in votes; Lucas narrows gap in fundraising

Wednesday, June 22nd, 2016

Abe Hudson was the leader in votes and fundraising as we approach the June 28 special election run-off House-29.

Hudson took 44.8% of the vote in the June 7 election in Bolivar County (and one precinct in Sunflower County). Second place in the six candidate field went to Earl Lucas with 23.4% of the vote.

The pre-runoff campaign finance reports were due yesterday with the Secretary of State and show Hudson has raised and spent more than $10,000 in the election so far while Lucas has raised just shy of that. Notable contributions in the reports include a $2000 contribution from the Mississippi Medical Association PAC to Lucas.

Lucas, Hudson report most raised in House 29 special election

Wednesday, June 1st, 2016

Six candidates qualified for the June 7 special election for the House 29 seat vacated by Linda Coleman (D) who was appointed circuit court judge. Campaign finance reports listing contributions and disbursements through May 28 show the candidates have collectively raised more than $20,000 and spent around $17,000. Most of the funds have been self-contributed.

Earl Lucas leads the pack in amount raised and cash-on-hand with $7,730 most of which ($6000) came from the Lucas Family Medical Clinic. He listed $3,460 cash-on-hand.

Abe Hudson reported spending the most at $7,066 and reports contributions from lobbyists Al Sage, the Clay Firm and from Senator Derrick Simmons.

Darryl Johnson self-contributed $2,500 and spent $2,500 with “Professionals” which is listed as a florist shop.

Henry Knox reported no money raised or spent and there was no report available online for Dalerick Wesley as of June 1. Cynthia Blockett raised and spent $2,500.

If no candidate receives a majority on June 7, there will be a run-off between the top two finishers on June 28. District 29 includes Bolivar County and part of Sunflower County.

Federal & State Lobbying Strategic Communication Project Management Business Development Political Consulting
Blog Homepage