Posts Tagged ‘MS House 72’

Green, Gibbs lead in House 72 fundraising

Thursday, August 18th, 2016

Voters in House District 72 will choose a replacement in a special election for former Representative Kimberly Campbell who resigned earlier this year.

Candidates were required to file pre-election campaign finance reports on Tuesday. Synarus Green and Debra Hendricks Gibbs lead in fundraising.

House 72 - Pre-Election Campaign Finance Report Summary

Synarus Green - Green jumped in the race first and looks to lead the field in votes and in fundraising. He served as Jackson’s chief administrative officer in the Lumumba Administration and previously as aide to Congressman Bennie Thompson. He is the son of Hinds Circuit Judge Tomie Green who held the seat from 1992-1998. Green loaned his campaign $11,404 but has raised significant funds from attorneys and law firms. Contributors include Crymes Pittman ($1000), Danny Cupit ($500), John Corlew ($500), the Simmons & Simmons firm of state Senator Derrick Simmons ($250), Pieter Teeuwissen ($500), Ashley Ogden ($1000), Vicki Slater ($500) and J.L. Holloway ($500). (Report)

Debra Hendricks Gibbs - Nearly half of the money raised by Gibbs comes from the Gibbs family or connected businesses (Robert L. Gibbs $6000; Gibbs Travis PLLC $2500; Waste Disposal Services LLC $3500). Former Jackson Mayor Kane Ditto, Jr. and associated companies contributed $1000. Other contributors include Whitwell & Associates (former Jackson city councilman Quentin Whitwell) $250; LeRoy Walker $500; Jonathan Lee $250; Richard Schwartz $500; and Duane O’Neil (President: Greater Jackson Chamber Partnership) $250. (Report)

Theresa G. Kennedy - Kennedy contributed $1500 to her own campaign and other contributors include state Senator Deborah Dawkins ($200), Richard Schwartz ($500), Brent Hazzard ($750), Dependable Source Corp ($1000) and New Jerusalem Baptist Church ($250). (Report)

A. Shae Buchanon-Williams - (No report available online at the Secretary of State’s Office as of 2:30pm 8/16/2016.) Her campaign organization filing lists former Court of Appeals Justice Ermea J. Russell as treasurer and Cindy Ayers Elliott, a former assistant treasurer defeated in the 1999 Democratic Primary when running for treasurer as her campaign manager. Elliott was also a candidate for the special state Senate election to replace Alice Hardin in 2013. (Filing)

If no candidate receives a majority of the vote, the top two will advance to a run-off on September 13.

Federal & State Lobbying Strategic Communication Project Management Business Development Political Consulting
Blog Homepage